Thoughts on Rails

Riding the Train of Thought

Open Source Photography Workflow Management Software

with 2 comments


A few days ago, I stumbled upon a nice application. From the website it looks nice and might soon contain every feature that I want – I haven’t been successful in making it run on my system (yet).

First of all, it is a Java application… and FreeBSD/PCBSD isnt exactly Java paradise. Yes the support is improving fast, and I’m happy about it :-) So, after downloading the “jar” file, I tried double clicking in Konqueror file explorer – which promptly opened the archive and showed me the files inside. Hmm… not exactly what I wanted to do.

So I fired up Konsole and issued the command

jar blueMarine-0.8.6-setup-linux.jar

For which is gave a rather confusing reply:

Exception in thread “main” java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: blueMarine-0/8/6-setup-linux/jar

Yes folks, I am an outsider to the Java world. I usually am clueless about how things work here. So I searched on the Internet and found nothing that said somebody had the exact same problem and how they solved it. So, I realized that I was probably on my own for generalizing the problem, finding out a generic solution and then applying it here. So after searching a bit, I found out that Java was unable to find the “classpath” for the given jar file and it makes no assumptions that the classes might just be in the same jar file… and so we have to tell it exclusively – it’s in the same file dangit!… well, for a computer to understand that, the command is:

java -jar blueMarine-0.8.6-setup-linux.jar

Finally, (wait, its not really finally) it worked! The interface loaded and complained that I have Java 1.5.0 while it needs 1.5.0_05! So until I make up the mind to try and upgrade Java (which isn’t a lovely process on this Operating System) I’m going to do something else (which includes having a cup of tea or sleeping). I need to make my mind up soon! :-D

*sigh* sometimes, I really dislike softwares. Whoever said that computers make life easy, hasn’t really ever used one.

Oh, and if you are curious, here’s the link to blueMarine: http://bluemarine.tidalwave.it/

Written by hiway

February 26, 2007 at 4:43 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know what you mean… Imagine the feeling of the developer that receives the complaints from lots of users… :-( And – yes – Java needs some workaround to simplify installation.

    For curious people, subscribe to the RSS feed of the application and wait for RC1 ;-)

    Thank you for trying it.

    Fabrizio Giudici

    April 10, 2007 at 12:46 am

  2. @Fabrizio Giudici: Thanks for stopping by! I’m really hopeful that it becomes usable to common people soon. It’s a beautiful software.

    Thanks for *making* it!!!

    Harshad

    April 10, 2007 at 12:58 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

