Thoughts on Rails

Riding the Train of Thought

My first Skype Call….

leave a comment »


Had a talk with one of my friends in US… it's fantastic!! The voice quality is great… and the fact that it's free makes it just better!

Thanks to RagnaRoc for taking the initiative and push me to download and install skype on my FreeBSD machine πŸ™‚

Yeah, the power of FreeBSD πŸ˜€ it can run Linux binaries with a little change… done automatically by one command or better yet, the whole thing can be installed through the ports with a simple


# cd /usr/ports/net/skype
# make install clean

I finally got it installed and was waiting to catch him online, which I just did. The first call was experiencing a HECK lot of dropouts, but the problem was diagnosed to be the firewall… so I rerouted the packets directly instead of passing through natd and next call went through fine!

And well.. i have the ports all closed up πŸ˜€ that's why he was unable to give me a call too… disabling the firewall for sometime told me what the problem was πŸ˜‰

Written by hiway

August 1, 2004 at 10:55 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

