Thoughts on Rails

Riding the Train of Thought

What makes you a photographer?

with 2 comments


Souls... Convincing yourself to become a lifelong student of photography is not an easy affair. Certainly, it is not for everyone to become a photographer by profession – then how does one decide if this line of work is the right choice? And once the decision is taken, the real work begins – being a photographer.

How does one “be” a photographer then? Is it through meticulously following a routine of taking at least a few photographs in a day, or is it through reading a pile of photographic magazines every week, or is it through getting that first assignment and keeping them coming? What else? Self propaganda at every social meet? Gifting photo frames with your photos? What makes you a real photographer?

As I meet new people, I tend to tell them that I’m a photographer… and there’s my handy little camera sitting right next to me to just prove the point. Some ask to see my work, depending on the situation and time, I take out my mobile phone from the pocket and run a slideshow of a few photos – the results are mostly very positive. Yet I sometimes wonder if all that is overkill!

Seriously, though I practice photography regularly… as a hobby and as scientific experimentation (yes). Though I try to keep myself updated about the latest happenings in the world of photography… I deeply feel there’s more to it. I’m looking for the answers…

p.s. The photo is of Amit, my cousin and myself… or rather, our shadows… something about the photo always puts me into the world of introspection. Hence it’s name – “souls”.

Written by hiway

July 16, 2006 at 7:24 pm

Posted in photography

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautifully said…

    Oh, if only photography were well-paying…

    -Zack

    Zack

    July 17, 2006 at 9:54 am

  2. Hi Zack,

    Thanks for the comment.

    Photography can be a high paying job, but we photographers have made it worse!

    More information is on this nice website: http://www.editorialphotographers.com/

    thoughtsonrails

    July 19, 2006 at 10:04 am


Leave a Reply

