Thoughts on Rails

Riding the Train of Thought

BSNL Broadband Slow Like Hell

with 54 comments


It is 3:43 am, when most other users are offline, I am trying to download KDE 3.5.5 source packages for my newly installed FreeBSD 6.2 on AMD64 machine – I am using a 256 Kbps BSNL DataOne Broadband connection. On January 2007, BSNL announced that it has upgraded all users for speeds upto 2 Mbps. Yes, I enjoy the speed – and I am thankful to BSNL. However, as I watch the progress of my downloads, there’s nothing else than “SHOCK” that awaits me.

Here’s a sampler from my Python download session:

Python-2.4.3.tgz                                5% of 9129 kB 3775  Bps 39m04s

3775Bps, around 3 KBps which comes around to 3*8 = 24 Kbps. Am I being served 10 times slower internet or what?

This is not just for one or two downloads. I tried reconnecting, hoping vainly that things might magically sort themselves out. I tried to check my DNS settings (Regular and OpenDNS both) both resolve fine. This is not the first time this has happened. It’s becoming a regular P.I.T.A., and I’m very much frustrated with it. If BSNL decides to make the 2 AM to 8 AM block free for all users (no charges for downloads) then they should at least give the minimum promised 256 Kbps speed!!! 24 kbps is just #$%@#$% #%$@@.

Written by hiway

March 5, 2007 at 3:55 am

Posted in BSNL, computers, Internet

54 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am In Guwahati my speed of internet for past two days is like anything. My average speed in about 10-12 kbps at day and 2-5 kbps at night not only for me but most of my friends are having the same speed problem. BSNL againg has its false promises for the year of 2007 BB.

    Anil Kumar

    March 12, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    • i am using 2mbps but i get only 30-47kbps downloading speed………………………i got vexed and i hate this bsnl but what do to no other for me in my city other than bsnl…. can u help me to resolve this problem??

      BindhuMadhavRam

      June 20, 2010 at 7:19 am

      • i have bsnl broadband 750 speed 512 but original speed at 60kbps only samebody tell me

        kowsick

        November 10, 2010 at 9:30 pm

      • Dude 512kbps means 64 kbps downloading speed

        shubham

        September 17, 2015 at 2:37 am

  2. Hi Anil Kumar,

    Yes it seems like we still have many hurdles to pass before we can have a full-fledged, no-hiccups broadband!

    thoughtsonrails

    March 15, 2007 at 6:06 pm

  3. hey this is sumant from nagpur , there is definitely something wrong in your copper wire of exchange , because i and usally all my friends download movies and games after 2 to 8 in free hours at about at least 150-180kbps on avg. and with good servers it goes past 200kbps 🙂 so a movie worth 700 mb’s is just matter of 50 minutes or so

    Sumant

    March 30, 2007 at 12:06 am

  4. Sumant: Thanks for your input. The problem seems to be something other than the copper loop since the problem is intermittent, usually it is fast, sometimes it is blazing fast and sometimes even google.com takes over a minute to load!

    Mostly it runs fast though. I had written this blog during one of those frustrating nights when I really wanted to get some work done and things were against me!

    thoughtsonrails

    March 30, 2007 at 4:50 am

  5. hi guys, i m from guwahati, and i have taken dis broadband connection since over a year..and yet i have NEVER, even for a single minute, even SEEN the speed of 256kbps…i use opera n it sometimes shows my speed as 500 bytes per sec, not even a single kb!!!! i m really very very much dissappointed wid bsnl n its services…only if i had other choices….

    vibhu

    April 26, 2007 at 12:00 pm

  6. @vibhu: True, sometimes it is a total PITA. But I’m happy about the speeds at night 🙂

    thoughtsonrails

    April 26, 2007 at 6:25 pm

  7. We have warehouse at Kalher , Taluka Bhiwandi.
    It has been more than two months that we have subscribed to BSNL broadband to have better connectivity.But unfortunately our experience is not good. We have opted for 512 kbps package and we hardly get the speed of 100 -140 kbps and that to very inconsitant. Why it is so ? Further, technicl people in BSNL Kalyan office are also not reachable on phone. People in warehouse have to work overtime, which is costly affair for us.We sincerely request the concerned authorities to look into the matter urgently and provide us constitant and good service for which we have paid.

    Shrikant Dhamorikar

    May 8, 2007 at 12:24 pm

  8. BSNL broadband service in Bhiwandi Taluka is not upto the mark !!!!!!!!!!!

    Shrikant Dhamorikar

    May 8, 2007 at 12:26 pm

  9. @Shrikant Dhamorikar: Have you tried contacting the HelpDesk

    Dataone Broadband Helpline Number: 1800-424-1600

    Resource: http://www.bsnl.co.in/service/helpdesk.htm

    Also, you can find service centre for your area here:

    http://www.bsnl.co.in/network/cust_care_center.htm#CustomerServiceCenters

    Just a note: I’m not a representative for BSNL, just another customer… so I can’t take responsibility for anything – only trying to help. See if they respond, else you might want to go and meet someone in the higher authority. Of course, if they are not ready to help, you can approach consumer court.

    thoughtsonrails

    May 9, 2007 at 12:23 pm

  10. i wold not exactly agree with you’ll iv been using dataone since jan last yr i.e 2006 and ever since the upgraded to 2mbps i always get download speeds ranging from 225-245 kbps.
    one of the reason for slow downloads might be that ur using the browser integrated downloaders, they’r always slow.
    try flashget (www.flashget.com) or download accelerator.

    VARUN

    May 21, 2007 at 7:28 am

  11. There is something funny happening these days with BSNL broadband in bangalore. The DNS works fine, but http packets other than a few sites like google get lost. pop3 with the same sites works. Google earth works, google talks works. yahoo fails, messenger fails after login … and i solve it by getting into a vpn elsewhere

    funny route

    June 4, 2007 at 9:20 pm

  12. Last night I was sitting staring at the modem’s blinking lights… ADSL link was UP – but the Internet connection (PPPoE) was not connecting.

    Then in the afternoon everything went offline – even teh ADSL data layer link was not connecting. It worked for a while… and broke again. It seems ok now… though I’m wary that it might fail again.

    Over 8 hours of ‘Net blackout! Not fair 😦

    I love DataOne… but it keeps hurting me every once in a while.

    thoughtsonrails

    June 7, 2007 at 1:22 am

  13. @VARUN: I use various downloading software, depending on the type of download. DataOne is fast especially for larger downloads – it is the smaller downloads – like images in a webpage, the webpage itself that take much longer than expected.

    I think we are served continuous high speed, but not burst speed. Which is why this happens. I could be wrong… just guessing.

    thoughtsonrails

    June 7, 2007 at 1:25 am

  14. BSNL sucks big time, at least in Bangalore. I used to get the advertised speed of 256KBit in 2006 but 2007 had been horrible! Not only do i NOT get 256KBit, but i also have to tolerate BSNL’s frequent downtime and disruption (DNS/speed fluctuation/not being able to log on). We stay in Indiranagar and are close to the exchange.

    Vivek.M

    June 8, 2007 at 10:36 am

  15. BSNL, yes it is a pain in the ass… I have been using this BSNL service for sometime… But, after this fire accident here in Chandigarh it has slowed down considerably!

    Good Luck!

    Subhash

    July 19, 2007 at 3:47 pm

  16. how do u download files without waiting in rapid share?i have bsnl connection.

    pradeep

    October 7, 2007 at 6:25 pm

  17. @pradeep: this is the wrong place to ask such a question! You can ask rapidshare people – they have an option where you can pay some cash and enjoy the service! 🙂

    thoughtsonrails

    October 10, 2007 at 1:37 am

  18. i have been using BSNL broadband since 1 year i thought that is the best but in the year 2007 the bsnl broadband is becoming the worst. the link goes off every 2-3 hours when i said the problem to the bsnl office the set it right but after few days again the same problem, since 25/9/2007 my link goes off daily from 5.00pm to 8.00pm daily with out fail. when i said this problem to bsnl they just laugh at me. after few days i came to know that they are dirverting my connection to some other person for the money for the period of 3 hours, what to do help me

    RAJ

    October 12, 2007 at 8:25 pm

  19. Ok listen up guys… I Have the Home 500 Plan.. i know its free from 2.00 am to 8.00 am.. i jus wanna know, whether,

    1. Do you have to SWITCH ON the modem only after 2.00 a.m. n SWITCH OFF the modem before 8.00 a.m. for the usage to be free.?
    As in, If i download something for 12 hrs, “Say Midnight 12 to Afternoon 12″, Is the usage between 2.00 a.m. n 8.00 a.m. counted as free…?

    2. The huge reason as to why i am asking the whole question is because, I asked the above mentioned Question to a BSNL Customer Care Exec n She told me that, “you have to switch on n off your modem within the free hrs OR ELSE IT GETS CHARGED”

    It would be of Great help if any of u out there can help me out.

    Vikas

    October 21, 2007 at 2:59 am

  20. @Vikas: Hi, it seems that the customer care exec has no idea about how it works and is just taking the easy/safe way out.

    From my experience, you can just keep using the Internet as it is – the data downloaded between 2 to 8am is marked free automatically.

    Cheers!

    thoughtsonrails

    October 21, 2007 at 2:46 pm

  21. Hey Thanks.. The post will definitely save me a Lotta trouble tryin to stay up til 2 man…

    Kudos…

    Vikas

    October 22, 2007 at 2:40 am

  22. Guys !! Copy this URL to ur new window i xplorer

    http://www.calcuttatelephones.com/bandwidthmeter/initialmeter.php

    and you can find ur current speed of ur Bandwidth.
    If ur net speed has gone slow den u r infected by some Spyware / Malware / Adware…………….
    so Beware l ‘o’ l…………..
    use a gud Anti Virus llike AVG,Avast (Full version)
    with some gud Firewall……

    Hav Fun…………
    Budds

    Now If your Bandwidth speed is 256 kbps den ur Dowload speed will be around 50 – 60 kpbs ………

    So

    Abid

    December 5, 2007 at 2:35 pm

  23. i usally download with 250kbps with bsnl broadband at night and i have no problem.

    vineet

    December 21, 2007 at 1:28 pm

  24. i have taken braod band connection with static ip address
    with modem 882. i need port number to connect internet.

    arun

    February 6, 2008 at 12:05 pm

  25. Hmm..quite intriguing post. I had a BSNL DataOne connection…the 512kbps line from 06-07. Never did once did the line coughed or slowed down. My download speeds were like 200 on an average. Speeds were almost always higher than that no matter what time i surfed. you have a connection problem most likely with your phone line. i had to give up the connection as i shifted cities. i would definitely go for it again if required. it is the fastest connection available in guwahati.

    Rob

    March 13, 2008 at 6:51 am

  26. i took bsnl 500c recently and i tried to download a film and it took 2 days(from 2-8) about 1.00 GB/day(upload/download)… i thought no problem cuz it was good and the worst was about to happen … now i could only download a max of 200MB download/day and 300MB upload/day…. that means 500MB… i now gets only a max data rate of 10 kB/s download…. i think it could be due to trojans or viruses sometimes which could really slow your system… browsing very fast for me…but downloading is very poor

    karthik

    April 14, 2008 at 8:51 am

  27. Hello guys!
    I was just navigating the net for some tips to speed up downloads when I came across this forum.
    Yes, it is true that when there comes the question of downloading data from a p2p source, BSNL proves to be really pathetic. But still… the speed is OK during the non-unlimited hours. From 2-8 am it may sometimes come down to 30 kb/s also. I too was having the same problem uptil I got some tweaks on the net, though the down speed still continues to go down to a pathetic rate, sometimes. Still, I am near to consoled after configuring my bittorrent clients(For free rapidshare users there is no solution, obviously until you hack a premium account!) which has helped me to achieve peak values of 265 kb/s!

    Here are some tips to cater to your problems:

    1. If you use utorrent, this turorial will be a great help to you: http://www.johntp.com/2006/04/19/how-to-increase-download-speeds-of-utorrent/

    2. Alternatively, if you use azureus, these instructions might help boosting up your download speeds: http://www.azureuswiki.com/index.php/Special:Search?search=best+bittorrent+client&go=Go

    3.Here is a link for tcpip.sys which controls speeds and all in windows:http://elliottback.com/wp/archives/2006/05/15/azureus-torrent-download-speed-tips/evid4226patch223d-enzip/
    The above patch removes any half-open TCP/IP connection limitations in Windows XP SP2(Remember, don’t patch some other OS!)that is, it modifies it from 10 to somewhere around 50. This is a very reliable tool for increasing your transfer rates. But still I don’t take any responsibility if there is any damage to your OS, as this involves replacement of system files.

    So, good luck downloading!! Hope my instructions help you!

    Supratim

    June 13, 2008 at 5:36 am

  28. i took bsnl broadband 500c since april 08, from june the speeds are fallen to 24 kbps which is quite embarrassing , it is mistaken that bsnl gives high speed internet

    siva

    June 22, 2008 at 6:47 am

  29. It seems everybody got a problem with BSNL dataone connection. The worse problm is in my state of Manipur. They even charge me for using my night time unlimited (2 pm to 8 am), Just imagine what the bill will be, a huge 7k for 1 month. When I enquired they said they will check with my usage account and ask me to come back after a month. Somehow i was unable to visit the BSLN for the next 3-4 month due to certain unavoidable situation and the worse thing my landline connection was out of order for a long period (say 7-8 month) due to widening of National Highway No. 39 and I was not unable to check my account on my own because of that. Finally when i visited the BSNL they said that I will not be able to see the my usage account as they kept their subscribers usage record for a maximum of 3 month after that they just delete it. Since I have no written complain registered with them, they adviced me to clear the pending bill so they can reconnect my broadband ane even suggested me to change my plan from 500 to 750 unlimited for problm free surfing.

    I took their advice and clearing the bill, and acordingly revised my plan from 500 to 750 unlimited for good. Here the problm continue, the speed is very slow, forget the download, I cannot even open my e-mail account properly. There is always a time-out message as opening a site took very long.

    rana

    August 15, 2008 at 12:12 pm

  30. my bsnl broadband (home plan 250) downloading speed is very slow(30kbps).what can i do for increase?

    shubham

    September 9, 2008 at 1:01 pm

  31. i have bsnl broadband home plan 250.my downloading speed is very slow(30kbps).when i try dns server 208.67.222.222 i get downloading speed 211 kbps.but when i restart my computer this is not working.what can i do for increase this .plz tell me

    shubham saini

    September 9, 2008 at 1:53 pm

  32. bsnl is very slow. i have got 700 ul…and the max download speed you get is 32 KB/s……..but thats all you can get at 256kbps!
    it takes 9 hours to download a 700 mb movie…..whereas people from europe,north america,south america can do the same under an hour…i envy them!

    Adam

    September 22, 2008 at 7:32 pm

  33. this speed is of my bsnl broadband connection which is 256kbps…
    however bsnl sucks!!!!

    any1 needs tips on this feel free to mail me..

    Your IP Address: 117.195.96.167

    Your Current Bandwidth Reading: 1.01 Mbps
    (Download Rate at 129.14 KB/sec)
    cheers mate.

    jibi

    October 6, 2008 at 12:21 am

    • plz help me to increase my internet speed ,i m using BSNL 750UL

      prashanth

      December 9, 2009 at 10:39 pm

  34. i’m in mumbai sub kalyan i have connection of bsnl home 500 plan from last 6 months i get download speed upto 185kbps per file & bandwidth 1.78mbps so from 1october 2008 bsnl have problem in there exchange they r not change there card which lost bandwidth in between user & server people get downloading speed 7-8 kbps .so i
    understood that problem & i show them download speed they told me we’ll solve it but from last 15 days they r not solve it & we loose our 500 rs. of this month half of month is gone they r really sucks it they r not working yet just relaxing in their office & i tweak & i calculate my test speed onwww.testmy.net site shows me ur download speed is 1.2 times faster than dialup yesterday bsnl (S.D.E.) says me they r also having problem in there coper wire which comes from exchange 2 mini exchange box (on road i ) & box 2 comes home they r so lazy not work properly & also from last 4 month i get excess bill & less it in august i got 1124 outstanding bill but when i chech in account manager they show me just 124 rs after minus because i pay 3 months in one times as per rule so i just get bill of my call over free

    vivek

    October 16, 2008 at 9:04 pm

  35. I am using 750 ul bsnl broad band.I am gettinh 30 kb/s download speed.How to increase it?

    ashok

    November 18, 2008 at 2:02 pm

  36. @all else: I think its a bit too late to reply to you now 😦 time has moved on… I’m happy with my BSNL connection BTW 😉

    @jibi you do know what you are saying, right? (*hint* read the last reply in this post)

    @vivek I think you should approach consumer court for resolving this issue is it si still continuing.

    @ashok 750 UL plan gives you 256kbps – that is 256 kilo BITS per second. Which is roughly equal to 30 kilo BYTES per second. You are getting the full speed. (I am using the same plan currently) to increase the speed, you need a better plan 😉

    Cheers!

    Harshad

    November 18, 2008 at 5:14 pm

  37. i am using bsnl recently .they give speed 250/kbps but it’s very slow some times sites does’t open quickly this month netwas very slow

    dattu

    December 2, 2008 at 2:36 pm

  38. Hi All,

    I took bsnl connection 750 UL plus with 256kbps limit.

    First month i was able to download with 200-250 kbps.
    Now it reduced to 30 kbps.
    Any suggestions?

    suresh

    December 29, 2008 at 7:51 pm

  39. I am from Bangalore..
    Ppl i think no one knows about this..
    Your ISP tells you that we give you 512kbps
    But ur speed will be around 64 kb / s
    There is difference between kb / s and kbps
    KBPS means Kilo Bits Per Second
    Kb/s means Kilobytes per second
    1 Kb/s = 8 Kbps
    This is correct and i am very much sure about it..

    Naveen

    February 6, 2009 at 8:38 pm

  40. Hi all,

    First i had home 500+ plan where i got
    dwnload speeds about 180-220 kb/s
    Now i changed my plan to home 750+
    and now i get only abt 25-30 kb/s
    First bsnl had only 900 and no 750 plan at all
    the 900 plan had the same speed as the 500 plan
    and unlimited download but no there is no 900 plan
    there’s only 750 which has a f***in slow dwnload speed

    i wish the they hadn’t taken off the 900 plan……….

    Ajay

    February 14, 2009 at 5:44 pm

  41. Home UL900 is my plan I think. Max download speed I’ve seen is 39 KB/sec. On an average I seem to only get 1 to 2 KB/sec!!
    On saturdays, it gets much worse — either connection is non existent or highly intermittent. I seem to get a new PPPoE ip address keeps changing every minute!

    Does anyone use airtel? I don’t mind using Reliance NetConnect in addition to BSNL if it is reliable (even if slower).

    Cartman

    March 27, 2009 at 12:21 pm

  42. Home UL900 is my plan I think. Max download speed I’ve seen is 39 KB/sec. On an average I seem to only get 1 to 2 KB/sec!!
    On saturdays, it gets much worse — either connection is non existent or highly intermittent. I seem to get a new PPPoE ip address every minute!

    Does anyone use airtel? I don’t mind using Reliance NetConnect in addition to BSNL if it is reliable (even if slower).

    Cartman

    March 27, 2009 at 12:22 pm

  43. BSNL IS THE WORST! I have 750 UL PLAN and it was giving 23 kbps(good but not that good) but it’s now giving roughly 0.1 kbps-0.8 kbps.BSNL IS WORST!

    BSNL IS WORST!

    April 30, 2009 at 5:18 pm

  44. Hi guys,
    I am from USA, visiting Bangalore. Needless to say I didn’t exactly expect things to work like they did in USA but I am absolutely flabbergasted with BSNL speeds! I think this would be FREE service in the US! (my brother (whom I am visiting) has 256Kbps Home Starter plan). The thing slows down to a crawl and at other times it seems okay.

    Also, it’s standard in the US, in the case of DSL to install inline noise filters in the telephone extensions throughout the house (all extensions except the one that goes into the modem). I am sure this has some impact on the reliability of the signals. But here it’s unheard of(?). Have you guys heard any such thing. Again, it’s so “standard” there that every new modem comes with a few filters in the box. If I’d like to purchase these filters here (Bangalore), does anyone know where I can get them?

    Thanks,
    Kenneth

    Kenneth

    May 15, 2009 at 11:28 pm

  45. broadband services these days are getting and cheaper and faster too, very soon we would have an affordable Gigabit internet ~

    Arthritis Treatments :

    October 31, 2010 at 5:39 pm

  46. guys the real speed they (ISP) is browsing speed and not the uload/download speed.

    Sam

    June 21, 2011 at 5:04 am

  47. I am using UL 625 combo plan its speed is 256 kbps.i was satisfied with BSNL but no that much i am getting only the speed of 30 to 33Kbps and my friend was using same plan and he having 100-120Kbps day and 200-250Kbps at night.I replace my telephone line wire with new one which having soo much joint i was sooooooooo shocked after changing the wire i am getting 100-150 Kbps average speed and Maximum was 200Kbps so friends i tell you only one thing that if you having and joint or any problem in your wire just replace it now your speed was Definitely improved but not always same problem occurs sometime the wire was fine but ADSL was having problem so get it checked from BSNL they wll definitely help you byee.

    K.K.S loves BSNL

    September 22, 2011 at 10:45 pm

  48. Hello, I have bsnl broadband 256kbps. it’s speed is 70-75kbps.some days it gives only 20-25kbps speed. any body help me plzzzzzzzzzzzzzz……..

    Gurpreet Bhagat

    December 13, 2011 at 1:36 pm

  49. I have BSNL 950 UL plan for4 Mbps. But im gettting only 20-35 KB/s . please BSNL die and get direct fro google. 😥

    Vimal Jaideep

    May 4, 2013 at 11:10 am

  50. i upgraded my plan to 950 combo but i am not getting the speed more than 50-60 kbps, and speedtest.net shows just .58 mbps .BSNL guy says me to change and buy a new router which has 300 ghz which is not supplied by bsnl, i am not able to understand, how come my desktop PC which is wired connected is getting low speed. Laptop has speed which is beyond imagination ( very less)

    please help

    saurabh jaju

    September 16, 2013 at 10:48 pm


Leave a Reply

