Thoughts on Rails

Riding the Train of Thought

Pynaple alpha – a Symbian app to auto set alarm for quick naps

leave a comment »


Click here to download:

pynaple_v0_1_0.sis (7 KB)

Here’s a bit of background: I love working continuously on interesting
projects, and the easiest way to achieve that is by taking small naps
in between. What bugs me most is that I need to set an alarm for 20/30
minutes while I’m still awake, and the time to fall asleep differs all
the time and usually the alarm rings just as I am getting into deep
sleep. Also, I use the mobile almost up to the point when I fall
asleep – so I made a small application that checks for inactivity on
mobile, and plays a mp3 after set duration. So now, the alarm will be
played after 20/30 minutes of inactivity.
 
It’s a few minutes worth of coding and packaging, so nothing fancy at
the moment, just an installable application that requires you to put a
file named ‘pynaple.mp3’ in your phone’s memory card:
“E:pynaple.mp3”.
 
When you run the app, it asks how many minutes should pass before the
alarm is played. 30 or 100 minutes should be good – for a 20/90 minute
sleep. I’m yet to test it myself, so feedback is welcome!
 
Also, if you find this useful or interesting, feature requests are welcome too.
 
Cheers!

P.S. This application needs Python for S60 o be installed on your phone, if you don’t have it already, get it here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/pys60/files/

Written by hiway

July 5, 2009 at 12:27 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

