Thoughts on Rails

Riding the Train of Thought

Friends and Spam

leave a comment »


I often meet a lot of new people, I’m open to conversation, can adapt to the wavelength of others when I want and usually end up making many acquaintances on the way. I have a few circles of close friends. One being closest, few others being in the next ring, a lot more in somewhat further distant ring, and the new acquaintances being the most far out.

Illustration_-_friend_circles

I’m cool with giving out my contact details to new people, just as I’m cool with making new friends. However, I’ve noticed that I get the most spam and unwanted emails via people in the outermost ring.

I’ve observed this: those people who tend to ask for your email / phone / facebook id as soon as you meet tend to generate the most spam in your inbox. I get mindless forwards, invitations to games, invites and relentless reminders to unknown social and ‘professional’ networks, to groups and events I don’t care about and just about everything that I’ve managed to avoid so far.

This is just an observation. I won’t change my ways of conversing with new people, but I will mark those who abuse my contact details as spam.

I am a citizen of the information age, what information I consume matters to me, and those who cannot spend few moments to find out and respect my choices are a hindrance to my being. Yes, I take spam _that_ seriously.

My inbox and life is better without some people.

ProTip: When not very sure that something is relevant to me, please don’t send it to me.

Written by hiway

March 29, 2011 at 11:58 am

Posted in rant

Leave a Reply

